Rebecca Donovan’s Reason to Breathe (The Breathing Series 1)


Let me just start with a statement that I know authors hate…I did not expect this story to be so gripping! I got it for free on the kindle and I was expecting a teeny-bopper story of love and angst but what I got instead was a story that broke my heart. From the very first page I was enthralled. I read this book in one day, long into the night. I cried so hard in some parts that I could not even see the pages through my tears.

Emma is the lead character and she has a terrifying secret that she tries so hard to hide. From the very beginning you will know what that secret is but it makes it no easier to turn the pages on what she goes through. Her mother abandoned her after her father died and she had to live with her aunt and uncle. Her home life is one of shame and secrets that she keeps to protect her little cousins.

“It wasn’t a choice to be here; it was a necessity. I had no where else to go, and they couldn’t turn their backs one me. They were the only family I had, and for that I couldn’t be grateful.”

Sara is her best friend. Emma is a loner while Sara is the most popular girl in school. That is what made me love her. She is always there for Emma. “But what I loved about Sara was that she was real.” Sometimes though I wanted to reach into the pages and smack her for keeping Emma’s secrets.

Evan is a godsend that Emma tried over and over again to throw away. She did not want him in her life and did everything she could to keep him out. He persevered though and their love story is timeless. He is every hero rolled into one.

The villain of this story is one you love to hate. I could not believe the hate inside of her. I wished every bad thing that could happen to her would happen. I wished her all kinds of pain. It is terrifying to imagine that there are really people out there treating children in this manner.

The story was written flawlessly. The characters are beautiful and she gives them such depth. The words literally leap off of the page and create a world in your imagination. The descriptions are so real that you can feel every pain, your heart stops with every kiss, and chills crawl your body with every horrific scene.

Not to write any spoilers but the ending killed me. I was literally in shock. The story just stopped. I skipped back into the book and read the ending over and over again in hopes that I missed something. There was no closure at all. I could not sleep because I kept running the ending through my mind trying to understand what just happened. I expect that Rebecca Donovan is a genius though, because I thought about this book every day until the next one came out, and I bought it the day it did. I had to know what happened to Emma!

I highly recommend reading this book. Be warned if you are a sensitive person though because you will cry. It causes the kind of pain that will stay with you for a while. It is so worth the read. I also recommend that you buy this one and the second one (Barely Breathing) at the same time because you will not even want to wait the time it takes to buy the second book to know what happens!

I am inserting links below for both Reason to Breathe and Barely Breathing below. If I have talked you into reading these books, once again let me say, please leave a review where you bought it. Every review helps the author!

Links below the pictures!

Reason to Breathe (The Breathing Series)


Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series)

Posted on June 7, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds great, I think I will hunt this one down. Thank you for visiting me and come back for more! Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

