A Review of Addison Moore’s Ethereal (Celestra Series Book 1)


“I know the end of the story before it ever begins. I must choose love. And for this, I will surely die.” (Skyla from Ethereal).

Addison Moore’s Ethereal is the first book in the Celestra series. I had never heard of this book or Addison until recently. I started reading a blog that listed Indie authors and I saw her name on the list. Her books sounded just like the type of books I love to read.

Ethereal is beautifully written. It is very descriptive and the words choices she uses are poetic. The story line is very unique. It is a new take on all the angel series we have been seeing lately.

The main character, Skyla, is spunky and full of life. Her father died and her mother remarried which makes her moods a little unpredictable. She has a younger sister and gains a step brother and sister when her mother remarried. Skyla has the abilities to read minds when she touches someone. She does not know why she has this ability, only that her father has it as well. When her stepfather moves the family to Paragon Island, Skyla realizes why she has her gifts and what she really is.

Skyla’s best friend, Brielle, is a breath of fresh air. She is a little promiscuous but sweet and energetic. She takes Skyla in as her new best friend right from the beginning and informs Skyla that she is living in the house of a girl who died mysteriously.

Logan and Gabe are the two love interests. Skyla falls for Logan instantaneously but also feels herself drawn to Gabe. Logan shares Skyla’s gift of reading minds. I was extremely fonder of Gabe than I was of Logan, though. I would not have put up with what Skyla did from him at all. Gabe seemed more sincere and sweeter. I am definitely on Team Gabe lol. Both Logan and Gabe share Skyla’s heritage and introduce her into a world she never imagined.

I do not want to post any more spoilers than what I already have. Ethereal is a must read. You cannot beat a story that has angels, ghosts, creepy supernatural beings, time-travel and a love triangle. There are also some surprisingly funny parts of this story. I found myself laughing or smiling many times at the antics or words of the characters. It is also full of suspense. This book is a journey filled with teenage angst and great paranormal drama. It is an original. I cannot wait to follow Skyla through her journey of self discovery in the rest of the series.

I read a review on Amazon that compared this story to bad fan fiction and said the story had no follow through. I completely disagree. I thought the book was well written and left itself wide open for a whole series to follow it. You cannot learn everything in one book or there would be no sense in a series. I agree with the many great reviews that were posted. This book is a book you will fall in love with and characters you will root for to the very last page.

I am inserting a link for Ethereal below. If I have talked you into reading this book, once again let me say, please leave a review where you bought it. Every review helps the author! Thank you!


Ethereal (Celestra Series Book 1)

Posted on June 9, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The book sounds interesting, I’ll have to put it on my reading list.

    Jeff

  2. Thank you so much for an awesome review! I really do hope you’ll enjoy the rest of the series as well. Please feel free to stop off at my Facebook page and let me know what you think of the rest! Again, thank you for the very kind review. 🙂

  3. I have this book,,,though I have never read it…I think I might soon. UM,.IF YOU LIKE ANGEL BOOKS…READ THE BOOK FALLEN. IT’S ALSO A SERIES. ❤ THEM.<3

Leave a Reply

