A review of Silvano Williams’ Spoon-Fed Addiction


Spoon-Fed Addiction is a Silvano Williams debut novella about the last day of Adiran Battlefield’s life. If I am honest, I was not sure I was going to like this book, but I once I got past the slow start, I saw the potential the book had. The book starts off with a diary entry from Angela. You do not know her role in the story, only that she is connected to Adiran, and fancies herself in love with him. She admits that she did not get to know him as well as she should have but she also refuses to share what she knows with people that ask her. She talks about how Adiran talked about a cruel God that judged him and how she would not let that God judge her. It is understood that Adiran died and that she wants to join him.

The story then starts from Adiran’s point of view. Adiran is a drug dealer/user that lives hard and fast. He is young and jaded, with no real purpose in life and no reason to think that life will get any better. Murder and death are the norm in his life. The last day of his life starts off with a simple drug pickup and exchange that sets off a chain of events that lead to the end of his life. As short as this book is I do not want to get into many details or it will give too much away. I will just say that Adiran describes his whole feelings on life, while he is high on acid and pot. The acid trips seem realistic (not that I would know!) and Adiran’s moodiness and worldview is basically a foul-mouthed rant at the unfairness of the world. Some of it is actually quite funny, though I am not sure that it was supposed to be. This story is about love and loss. Adiran loses many friends and many people die on the last day of his life. Adiran’s life ends with a crash and a bang. He in effect ruins so many lives around him on his last day. You think you know the ending but you are surprised at how it turns out, at least I was. All in all, I would give this book 3.5 stars. It had potential, it made me laugh and it also made me look at a side of life I am not familiar with. I am looking forward to reading more from Silvano Williams.

Quotes from the book:
“You think? Sounds to me pleasure took your carriage onto a dirt road and now you’re complaining ‘cause you stepped in mud.”

“Because most are afraid of change, they are afraid of themselves, and those in power are eager to use this fear against us. If we were to fight…if we were all to fight…who could stop the generation of warriors starving inside of us?”

“This asshole had bitten a chunk from my chocolate bar, and the insides were oozing out like soft jelly, reminding me of what I should still have.”

Once again, if I have talked you into reading this book, please leave a review where you bought it. Every review helps the author. Link for the book below. Please feel free to leave comments or questions for me or the author. Follow me on Facebook for upcoming reviews, interviews, giveaways and book-related discussions. Thanks!


Posted on July 3, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love these words: “because most are afraid of change, they are afraid of themselves…” thanks for sharing!

  2. Thank you for the great review!

Leave a Reply

