GIVEAWAY + REVIEW of Richard Stephenson’s ‘Collapse’ Ends at Midnight CST 7/7


***GIVEAWAY OVER!***    Winners are Jill James and Heather Alexander

COLLAPSE: NEW AMERICA BOOK 1

Richard Stephenson’s Collapse is a post-apocalyptic rollercoaster ride. Imagine the world right now, then imagine it again in the year 2027, except by then it is the America of your nightmares. The fact that is only 15 years in the future is extremely frightening to me because this book is so realistic. I could see most everything actually happening. I was hooked from the first page. The characters and supporting characters are so believable. The book revolves around 3 men specifically, but there are so many other stories and lives entwined within the pages. Stephenson did a very skilful job of flowing from story to story. He is a big one for leaving a character at a cliffhanger at the end of the chapter and making you wait several more chapters to find out what happened. Which I am a big fan of that because it makes the book more exciting.

In the book, America is in the 2nd Great Depression. Gas runs as high as $15 a gallon, travel is pretty much at a standstill. Most people are homeless and jobless. Florida is practically wiped off the map by a category 5 hurricane that makes landfall several times and decimated everything. Terrorists are on American soil and they could be anybody, even your next door neighbor. The government is no help to anybody, and becomes corrupt. The middle East has banded together as an army that is set on toppling America. This time, they actually have a shot at success.

Howard Beck is the richest, and most reclusive, man in America. He has Asperger’s Syndrome and has a genius IQ. He loves Star Trek. He is the creator of the world’s first computer that can think on its own. The computer’s name is HAL and he is a big part of the book. Hal is actually one of my favorite characters. Howard lives in a fortress that he defends at all costs but it is not enough to save it.

Richard Dupree is an ex-Navy Seal that is an escaped convict. Richard’s main concern is his children. I can’t go into why he is an escaped convict because it will just ruin it. Richard will do whatever takes to get to his children and keep them safe.

Maxwell Harris, or Max, is the crippled Chief of Police of a small Texas town. When a hurricane threatens to hit Texas, Max does whatever he can to save his town, which is not enough. There is love story intertwined with the story of Max, that gives it a touch of sweetness. Max goes on a journey away from Texas that has shocking consequences.

All three men go through hell to get where they are going and their journey brings them together. America is under new leadership, but not how you might think. The book leaves it very open for the next in the series.

I am not doing this book justice really. I can’t give out to many details because it will ruin the book. This book had me on the edge of my seat. It literally gave me strange, vaguely terrifying dreams of America falling into ruin. This book is masterfully written, and if you like this type of book, and even if you do not, it is worth the read. I think this book deserves 4.5 stars. I cannot wait to read the next book.

Once again, if I have talked you into reading this book, please leave a review of it where you bought it. Every review helps the author. This book comes out today, so I will insert a link for it below.


Collapse (New America)

GIVEAWAY!!!

We have one signed paperback and one Amazon Kindle e-book to give away today! The e-book will be gifted through Amazon. If you do not have a kindle, you can download the kindle app on most smart phones, tablets and PC’s. AMAZON FOR PC APP

The rules are easy. You can get up to two possible entries. Leaving a comment on this page is mandatory to enter. The comment should have something to do with the review. If you do not leave a comment on this review, you will not be entered to win the book.

You can get another entry by ‘liking’ my facebook page! Click HERE to like my facebook page!

Please leave a comment on my facebook page saying that you liked it to earn an entry. If you are already a fan on my page just leave a comment saying that you want an extra entry.

Contest ends on Saturday at midnight. I will post the winners on this page and my facebook page on Sunday morning, 6/8. Winners will have to submit their addresses or other contact info by 6/9 at midnight to receive their prizes, otherwise another winner will be picked.

WINNERS- Just leave a comment on this page with your email or request mine if you do not want yours public.

No family members of Cynthia Shepp can be entered. Good Luck!

It will be a old-fashioned random drawing! 🙂 I did not know how hard it was to put any kind of widget on WordPress. I could not get rafflecopter to work. So until I figure out a better way to do it, I am throwing the names in a bowl and letting my kids pick the winners. 🙂 This is my first giveaway so we will have to learn together!

Please follow my blog for more reviews and giveaways.

Posted on July 6, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. It is easy to enter! Just leave a comment below for a chance to win a free book!

  2. Cynthia, nice review. I love the idea of a story told by 3 such different men to add their different perspectives on life. Sounds real and scary because of the realness.

  3. I want to declare my innocence! I am commenting because I’m impressed with the ingenuity of the author, Richard Stephenson. Very clever to set the story only a few years up the road. Wouldn’t it be miraculous if it opened eyes…

    Now, if I win, I’ll have to buy two copies of Collapse and give one away!

  4. Ahh! This book sounds awesome 🙂

  5. Commenting to win! Sounds like a great book!

  6. Book sounds cool – sign me up.

  7. Anything that you deam as being ‘masterfully written’ has got to be worth a read. This book sounds terrifyingly tense – just what I love!
    Thanks for the giveaway and the honest review.

  8. Crystal Clifton

    Thanks for the giveaway

  9. Heather Alexander

    I love this kind of book, reminiscent of The Stand by Stephen King, where you wait with baited breath for your characters to find each other. It sounds awesome and I hope I win it because I really want to read it.

  10. sounds great 🙂 can’t wait to check it out
    sturgill420@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

