Author Ashley Robertson Guest Post/Giveaway **CONTEST CLOSED!**


***CONTEST CLOSED***
Beating The Heat With A Book
by Ashley Robertson
(This is one of my shorter guest blog posts; sorry to those who prefer my more lengthy ramblings.**chuckles)
The best way for me to beat the heat is by sitting indoors with my fingers typing away on my laptop, working on my next novel. For the first summer in all of my native central Floridian life, I’m not trying to escape the Sunshine State—I’m doing quite the opposite actually. Usually the heat and humidity is more brutal than I can tolerate during the summertime months, but when I look at the weather map of the country and see that Florida is actually cooler than most other places, not only am I shocked, but I’m actually glad to be in Florida. What is going on with our world? Most of the northern states don’t even have air-conditioning, as cooler climates are expected during their summers. My hubby and I have been known to flee from our home in Orlando to visit places like LA, Boston, and Montreal to cool down. But now I’m more motivated to camp out at home, in the comfort of my overworked air-conditioning.
 
So even if you’re not a writer, then you’re at least a reader if you’re reading this blog post. How are you staying cool? Perhaps reading a book in the most comfortable room of your home? I know a lot of us have kids to care for, but with my little guy being in camp for the summer, it frees me up to not only finish my next book, but also allows me to continue building more blogationships with all the amazing authors, book bloggers and reviewers, and readers out there. Because every author knows that without those dedicated book lovers, our writing careers would be nowhere. And while we pray for a cold front to bring us relief from the heat, I’m also thanking God for this amazing opportunity to connect with some of the “coolest” people I’ve ever met. Come visit me at my website. I’d love to connect with you: http://www.ashleyrobertsonbooks.com/ or find me on these social media outlets:
LINKS TO BUY ASHLEY ROBERTSON’S BOOKS:
UnGuarded  (Amazon E-book)

Crimson Groves (The Crimson Series) (Amazon E-book)

**************************************************************************************************************************

THE GIVEAWAY! (2 E-book copies of Unguarded)

The Giveaway is simple. You get three chances to enter.

1) The first one is MANDATORY. You must leave a comment on this post that has something to do with this guest post. That will get you in the running!

2) Like ASHLEY ROBERTSON BOOKS on facebook for a second entry.  Click HERE to like her. Make sure you leave a comment here saying you did. If you already have, just leave a comment on here saying you already did.

3) If you would like to up those odds, like ME on facebook for a third entry. Click HERE to like me on facebook. Make sure you leave a comment saying you liked me for a chance to win! If you already liked me on facebook before, just leave a comment telling me you already did and you will get your third entry.

Easy-Peasy! The names will go in a random name generator. I will put all the names in there 1, 2, or 3 times depending on the number of times you entered. I will hit the button and it will give us a winner! The contest closes at 8 a.m CST 7/13. Winners will be announced shortly afterwards. GOOD LUCK!

Posted on July 12, 2012, in GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Great post Ashley – I am in Slovakia in Europe and we are experiencing terrible heat too. Good luck with finishing your next book!

  2. Thanks Robert. I appreciate your support. Praying for some cooler weather for you too :-):

  3. Here’s an excerpt from my new release UnGuarded:
    Cole waved his hand. “But what about your consequences? If you keep this up, you may lose…” He sighed. “Every thing.”
    “I may have already lost everything”—my tone sounding subdued. “This might be the last time you ever see me, and this is how you want it to go down?”
    “What do you mean by that? Your archangel would never destroy you.”
    “No, you’re probably right about that, but it isn’t fully up to him—”
    “If that happens, I’ll find you!” he shot back with a sharp tone. “If you become fallen, I’m still going to love you.” He scooped me up in his arms and his lips crushed mine.
    I savored the kiss for a moment longer than I felt comfortable. After all, the heat from that kiss would fuel me for the treacherous journey ahead. My hand cupped his cheek, feeling his jawbone beneath the soft flesh. “I love you, Cole. Always.”

  4. And here’s an excerpt from Crimson Groves:
    Depression would sometimes find me, clinging to me, reminding me of those I’d never see again. It’s funny how you think you don’t need anyone. I’d found out the hard way that that just isn’t really true. I’d also get down on myself for not acquiring one of those special powers yet. I mean, if I had to be a vampire, couldn’t I at least get some super cool power that no one else had? But I guess there were some perks to this life, like the fact I’d never age. I was going to look twenty-one forever. I knew plenty of people that would pay big money for that. I had to pay for it with my soul.

  5. Wow I know we have been in the upper 90s here in CO but I cant believe Flordias been cooler then most other states! I also have liked Ashley Robertson and of course you Cynthia on FB

    • Thanks for your support Laura. You haven’t been near any of those wild fires, have you? One of my favorite places to visit is Denver. I have some close friends who live there, and the mountains are just breathtaking!

  6. I cant believe it is so hot this year everywhere, glad you are staying cooler! I have like Ashley Robertson and Cynthia on FB! Good luck finishing your next book!

  7. for some reason it didnt show the first post, then when I reposted it showed up!!! Sorry for double reply lol

  8. terri kinckner

    I am reading this blog in Lancaster county, Pa on my porch with my kindle and a glass of iced tea. (I am actually commenting from my kindle lol) Since there is now way to beat the heat, I’m enjoying it and reminding myself that I wish for this stuff when it’s snowing!

  9. The way I’m beating the heat in Texas is staying in doors during the day. It’s kind of hard having a 10yr old boy and a 5yr old little girl. So when I’m dragged outside by them, it’s the kiddie pool for us three, lol. When it’s so hot like it is, were wishing for Winter, but then when were freezing were wishing for the summer. lol. I just can’t wait for Fall my favorite season of all.

  1. Pingback: Beating The Heat With A Book | ashleyrobertsonbooks

Leave a Reply

