Review /Giveaway of CJ Urban’s Diary of a Dead Girl ***Contest Closed***


Diary of a Dead Girl centers around Julie Townsend, who is 23.  In the very beginning of the book, Julie’s parents die, leaving her with custody of her ten year old brother, Sam. In her quest to give Sam a better life, she moves them to Dupont, which is a small town outside of Sacramento. Her uncle allowed her and Sam to live in his old house rent free. On the day that they move in, she was told that the only rule was not to move any of Tara’s things. Tara was Julie’s cousin who was murdered when she was sixteen, and her bedroom was left as a shrine. The door to Tara’s bedroom is locked and when Julie decides to get inside of it, she meets a man, Skye, at the hardware store. Julie opens the door to the bedroom and finds Tara’s diaries. Julie thinks that because of what the diaries say that the wrong person was convicted of Tara’s murder. Julie drags Skye on a journey to find her cousin’s killer. On their list for adventure is breaking and entering, a suspicious sheriff, a troubled young man, and a deadly secret that someone does not want out, and will do anything to keep them from finding out.

CJ Urban’s ‘Diary of a Dead Girl’ is a quick, delightful read. I am really big on books that do not go into excessive details and explaining, and this book has just the right mix of details and simplicity. This is CJ Urban’s debut novel and I have to say I was extremely impressed. The storyline was smooth, the mystery exciting and the characters were loveable. Full of mystery and a lazy Sunday feel, this is one book that you can read in one sitting, and still want more. It also leaves itself wide open for a sequel, as I was very upset by the ending. (I won’t tell you why!) I am looking forward to the next installment. I give this book 4 stars. J

Once again, if I have talked you into reading this book, please leave a review where you bought it. Every review helps the author. I am going to insert a link for the book below. At only $2.99 on Amazon, you should really take a chance on this book.

Diary of a Dead Girl

_________________________________________________________________________________________

The Giveaway is simple. You get three chances to enter. (1 ebook copy of Diary of a Dead Girl)

1) The first one is MANDATORY. You must leave a comment on this post that has something to do with this review. That will get you in the running!

2) Friend CJ Urban on facebook for a second entry.  Click HERE to friend her. Make sure you leave a comment here saying you did. If you already have, just leave a comment on here saying you already did.

3) If you would like to up those odds, like ME on facebook for a third entry. Click HERE to like me on facebook. Make sure you leave a comment saying you liked me for a chance to win! If you already liked me on facebook before, just leave a comment telling me you already did and you will get your third entry.

Easy-Peasy! The names will go in a random name generator. I will put all the names in there 1, 2, or 3 times depending on the number of times you entered. I will hit the button and it will give us a winner! The contest closes at 8 a.m CST 7/19. Winners will be announced shortly afterwards. GOOD LUCK!

Posted on July 18, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Morgan Kleiss

    This book sounds extremely interesting based on your review! For some reason, I am drawn to books that include letters, diary entries and such. You also have me very intrigued by why you were so upset about the ending. Even if I don’t win, this book is now on my “to-read” list!

  2. Morgan Kleiss

    I just sent a friend request to CJ Urban on Facebook!

  3. Morgan Kleiss

    I already “like” you on Facebook!

  4. I usually stick to paranormal books, but this actually has intrigued me. Thanks for the review, Cynthia :-):

  5. Sounds very interesting, from the very beginning of her parents both passing away to her having to take care of her 10yr old brother. To her trying to find the killer of her cousin, the real one. I now want to read this book REALLY bad, lol.

    I’m already a friend with you on Facebook.
    I already sent a friends request to the author.

  6. Hey everyone! I’m thrilled about the interest in my book! You guys are awesome. 🙂 Happy reading!

  7. Great review! Seems like a really good book! I would like to be entered to win. I have liked you both on Facebook. Thanks for the opportunity! 🙂

Leave a Reply

