Robert Bryndza’s ‘The Not So Secret Emails of Coco Pinchard’ Review


 

I do not even know where to start because I do not want to post too many spoilers. I have so many pieces of the book rolling through my head and I am laughing just thinking about them! There were a few things that I had to look up but after I did, I just laughed some more and went back to reading.

Coco Pinchard is a hilarious character that anyone can relate too. She is still fairly young at 40-something, an author, and has a grown son who is gay. She lives in London and the story is full of British humor. The story starts out as a series of emails from Coco to her various family members and friends. It is Christmas time and Coco spouts off what she got for Christmas, from a bunch of Marlboro Lights, to the iPhone that her husband, Daniel, gave her. The most hilarious part is that Coco was not expecting an impersonal iPhone from her husband, she was fully expecting a present from Tiffany’s. The iPhone becomes Coco’s most prized possession, as she uses it to email her friends that are far away, as well as just to tell her son something while he is upstairs.

Daniel tells Coco that he is going out of town to be the new director of a musical. This starts off a series of events that culminate with Coco finding out that Daniel is cheating on her, with no other than Snow White! (lol, you will have to read it now just to find out what I am talking about!)

Coco and Daniel separate and ultimately divorce, but not without a million mishaps along the way that Coco manages to get herself into. Newly separated, Coco does not know what to do with herself. She manages to outcast herself in the publishing world with her book, Chasing Diana Spencer, because of a rivalry with the bestselling author of the time. Because of that all of her books are taken off the shelves and Coco goes on an adventure to see all her books burned.

Then there is her mother-in-law, Ethel, who is a crotchety old broad, who ends up living with her. Ethel is hilarious and horrible, in a well-meaning way. You can tell she loves Coco but she puts her through Holy Hell.

Then comes Coco’s chance to prove herself once again, by making a musical out of her book. With the help of all her friends, a few romances that will have you rolling in the floor, a couple of holidays, a visit to a jail in California, and a garden plot, Coco Pinchard will have you rolling on the floor and laughing so hard that you snort tea up your nose. (lol, I really did!).

The entire book is in email format and it really works. It flows so smoothly and the pages turn so fast because you just cannot put the book down. The emails are only one way but the story is told flawlessly from Coco’s point of view. The characters are fantastic from Coco’s best friends, Chris and Marika, to her various in-laws, to the hunky Adam that helps Coco find her way. I give this book 5 stars and I would give it more if I could.

This is one book you do not want to miss if you enjoy British humor and chick-lit. I am looking forward to reading many more books from Robert Bryndza and I hope you check this one out! It is actually free on Amazon today and tomorrow (August 1-2). I hope you snap it up, laugh your ass off, and write up a review! I would love to know what everyone else thinks about Robert’s brilliant book!

Quotes from the book: (I am going to limit myself to three but there are so many great ones!)

“E’s nineteen years old! It’s not trees e’s gonna be going up.”

“I heard your bed going like the clappers. For my own peace of mind I am going to assume you, and whoever, were jumping up and down on it to the music you were playing.”

“He’s letting her eat his corn on the cob.”

I also have to mention some words and phrases that I thought were so funny.

Prat, up the duff, bollards, pipped me to the post (there are just so many that are so funny!)

Link to Amazon: The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard


The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard

Posted on August 1, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you Cynthia, it is always such a boost to get a wonderful review like this, and you have captured the narrative of the book so eloquently. You give just enough away to entice readers! When I read reviews of my books I notice how other people often capture what the book is about much better than I can myself! As a writer I find it’s so hard to boil down the whole book to a blurb, a synopsis or even an outline. Your review is brilliantly timed too – The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard is currently FREE on Amazon for today and tomorrow 🙂

    • Thanks Robert! I loved Coco Pinchard and I cannot wait to read more books from you. Books that make me laugh are my favorite and this book had me practically rolling in the floor laughing 🙂

  2. I want to read the book so bad, now with your review makes me want to even read it more. It sounds so funny, something that once you start reading you wont be able to put it down. When I’m not reviewing that will be the next book I read. Awesome review Cynthia!!

  3. Reblogged this on The British Guy In Slovakia and commented:
    I don’t normally share other blog posts on British Guy In Slovakia, but to support the FREE giveaway of The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard I have shared this wonderful review. Not only does it sing the praises of the book (Thank you Cynthia) It also gives an enticing synopsis of what a fun read it is!

  1. Pingback: Coco Pinchard’s Big Fat Tipsy Wedding (Book 2) Review & Rafflecopter Giveaway | Cynthia Shepp

Leave a Reply

