D.S. Hellen’s ‘Chasing Evil’s Shadow’ Review/Giveaway (CONTEST CLOSED)


(3 signed copies of Chasing Evil’s Shadow Giveaway Below: Please read review first)

Chasing Evil’s Shadow

D.S. Hellen created a world in which nightmares walk. As most of you know, I am a scaredy-cat lol, and I usually do not read horror books, but Chasing Evil’s Shadow is one I let slip through the cracks…and I am glad I did. This book kept me awake long after I finished the last page, as I lay in bed and looked in the shadows for the Cipes. The fog that I wake up to most mornings at my house became less about the beauty of the morning and more about what faceless, soul-sucking creatures could be lurking out in it.

The Traveler and the Hunter hunt the Cipes, which are soul-stealing demons that are from a different realm. Cipes are brought to our realm by the souls that scream to be taken, such as the worst people that humanity has to offer. When they are brought here by those souls, other souls along the way hang in the balance. The family members of the people whose souls get taken suffer horribly because of that. Along the journey the Traveler and the Hunter meet two men whose lives are intertwined with their own. These two men brave all sorts of battles to keep their souls intact, while grieving for the loss of many of their loved ones along the way. The characters of this book make it as you will really relate to them. Some of the scenes will have your stomach feeling uneasy and nervous. D.S. Hellen also takes some of lives more private moments, and makes them perverse, not in a sexual way, but in a super creepy way. It all works with the subject of the book though.

Pick up this book and journey with these men on an adventure that will have you holding your breath, looking over your shoulder, and hiding inside when you see creeping tendrils of fog lingering outside. I give this book four stars for creativity and for making it hard for me to sleep at night! It is well-written and the short chapters make it an easy, page turning read. It is also the first volume in a series and it leaves itself wide open for the next installment.

Quotes from the book:

“Your kitty lost his head. You get to keep yours…but your life is mine.”

“A thick fog draped over him, like it was trying to hide him or something, and I thought it was going to take me too.”

“Recently, everything had more flavor, colors were brighter, and the smells were more intriguing.”

 Once again, if I have talked you into reading this book, please leave a review where you bought it. Every review helps the author. I will place a link for the book below the cover.

Kindle: Chasing Evil’s Shadow

Paperback: Chasing Evil’s Shadow (Volume 1)

__________________________________________________________________________________________

THE GIVEAWAY:

I have THREE SIGNED COPIES of Chasing Evil’s Shadow to give away this weekend. This will be an easy entry. All you have to do is comment on this post and tell me WHY you want to read this book.

For an EXTRA entry, simply go to Chasing Evil’s Shadow Facebook page and give it a like. Click HERE to like the page. Let me know in a comment that you did or if you already have.

Contest ends 8/6 at 8am CST. Names will go in a random name generator however many time you answered, and the first three names it gives me will be owners of a signed copy 🙂 Good Luck!

Posted on August 3, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I love scary stories,also i like books that enable me to feel anything!

  2. I would like to read this book because I’m all about some horror an I need something good to read in the upcoming October horror month! Looks AWESOME! Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  3. And I already like you on Facebook, an your friend on Goodreads. I just love you all around. 🙂

  4. Great review, Cynthia. I absolutely cannot watch scary movies, but I have no problem reading the books. I’ll have to add this one to my ever growing TBR pile 🙂

  5. The quotes make this seem like a very interesting book. I like on FB also

  6. The book blurb made me shiver. I love these kinds of books. Thanks for the great giveaway.

    laurathomas61@att.net

  7. If it involves soul suckers I want to be there! Gary Starta

  8. Awesome review, I’ll have to put it on my tbr list. I haven’t seen a book like this, I like how the Cipes come and takes the souls of the most horrible ones. Your fav quote made me laugh…. “Your kitty lost his head. You get to keep yours…but your life is mine.”

  9. As soon as I read Soul stealing Demons, I knew that this was a book for me. Love Demon based fiction. Great review and thanks for the giveaway x

  10. i really enjoyed the book it was awesome to read great job sis love jack

  11. Love this novel it has great characterization and takes you on a fantastic journey. D S Hellen found a way to touch all kinds of emotions with out going over the top.

  12. Crystal Clifton

    I love to read just about anything but have recently gotten into scarey stories. Thanks for the giveaway.

  13. I love to read a good scary story lol plus this book looks awesome! Also already like your fb page 🙂

  14. Great review. I want to read this book because I love horror stories! This looks like a fantastic book. I already liked your FB page, thanks for the giveawway!

  15. The Winners are:

    Mandee Wyrick
    Gary Starta
    Crystal Clifton

    Congratulations 🙂

  16. This is a great book!! I could hardly put it down!! It made me laugh and made me cry but mostly it just scared the bejesus out of me!!! I look forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

