Katherine Polillo Guest Post/Giveaway (contest closed)


Hi everyone my name is Katherine Polillo and my book Destine is now available through the Kindle store at www.amazon.com.  My inspiration for Destine was not a dream or a grand ah ha moment, rather it was a compilation of things.  I have a love of YA literature and knew I wanted to write something within that genre.  I also was raised in a very religious household, very fire and brimstone.  While in college as a history major, I found a passion for studying all religions of the world.  So when I sat down to write a book it came very naturally to combine my love of theology with my love of YA literature, and ta-da: Destine was born.

Many writers will tell you that they have been writing since they were children and always knew that this is what they wanted to do.  I was not one of these cases.  I have been a lifelong reader and lover of books, but had never even attempted to write a short story, let alone a book, until I sat down to write Destine.  I was a history major in college with a minor in English and had read everything from the traditional literary classics, to the modern cult classics, to drug store paperbacks, but if I’m being honest it was the genre of Young Adult Paranormal Fiction that grasped my interests the most.  If I was going to read for enjoyment and pleasure that was the genre that I found most captivating, so it is with no great surprise that Destine is YA Paranormal Fiction, but this does not explain how I came to call myself an author.  

I was teaching middle school social studies when the infamous budget cuts of New Jersey occurred and all non-tenured positions were eliminated.  It was mortifying to be called to the principal’s office like a child and be told “you’re great, but there is no money to pay you, so we are not renewing your contract.”  I felt cut adrift into a sea of uncertainty.  I had gone to college, I had worked hard, I had done everything right, so why did this happen?  As I struggled with finding a new job, I also buried myself in reading to escape the realities of my life.  It was during this time period, where I found myself with an abundance of free time, that I decided to try to write.  My husband had told me for years that I should write a book, but I had never made the attempt.  I sat down at my computer and my characters seemed to flow from me, as if they had always been there waiting to make their entrance.  I loved the feeling of creating a life for them that I had control over, when my own seemed out of my hands. 

When I finally finished Destine, I found a very happy home with Anchor Group publishing. I am thankful that I have this supportive and hilarious family to take this ride with.  Sails are hoisted, hatches are battened down, anchor is raised and Destine and I are ready to set sail with Anchor Group to navigate. 

Stalker links:

http://www.facebook.com/WatchersTrilogy

http://www.destine-watcherstrilogy.com

https://twitter.com/KPolillo

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15792303-destine

Trailer Link:

http://youtu.be/yPvg1oVHp8s

Buy Links:

Available through Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Destine-The-Watchers-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B008TXCLWU/ref=sr_1_9?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1344354379&sr=1-9&keywords=Destine

Available through my Author App on my Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WatchersTrilogy

__________________________________________________________________________________________

THE GIVEAWAY:

Katherine has been so kind as to offer a combination prize! One lucky winner will win a pdf version of the book, a bookmark, and a magnet! To enter is easy! Three chances to as usual. Names will go in random name generator however many times you entered and it will spit out a winner!

1) This is MANDATORY! Leave a comment on this post asking Katherine a question about her book or the post.

2) LIKE her facebook page. Click HERE to like her page. Make sure you tell me that you did!

3) FOLLOW her on Twitter. Click HERE to follow her. Make sure you tell me that you did!

Contest ends 8/9 at 8am CST!

I ALSO HAVE A CONTEST GOING ON FOR THE SAME PRIZE ON MY FACEBOOK PAGE. ENTER IT FOR EVEN MORE CHANCES TO WIN! http://www.facebook.com/cynthiashepp

Posted on August 8, 2012, in GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Tera Marie Ergen

    Got the new book what was your inspiration to write it? Your on my twitter and facebook I shared it to! Lol

    • Thanks for the share and the likes! The book was a compilation of ideas and interests. I love YA fiction and have a deep interest in theology and religions around the world. I attempted to blend these two interests in Destine, hope you enjoy!

  2. I really love to hear about authors who found writing because of external circumstances. Sometimes it takes a kick in the ass to make us do something we’re passionate about. Congrats on getting your first book out there!

  3. Congratulations on your first book.

    If you could only choose one line to advertise your book, what would you choose?

  4. Now that you’ve finished a book in the YA paranormal fiction do you think you’ll write another in this genre? Thanks for the giveaway! I’m following you on Facebook and twitter!

  5. Lauren Alumbaugh

    I liked you on fb and twitter! I wish you the best of luck with sales!!

  6. Who is your favorite author?? I already liked you on facebook but now i’m following you on twitter.

    • Thanks for the follows. Wow, tough question. I love so many different types of books and authors. Some of my favorites are George Orwell, J.R.R. Tolkien, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, H.P. Lovecraft, Stephanie Meyer, and the list goes on and on.

  7. Looking forward to reading a book that seems truelly interesting. You mentioned in your post that you are an avid reader, Meeting which author past or present would make your day?

  8. The winner is Lacey L. Congratulations! I need your email and snail mail addresses 🙂 I will send you an email shortly!

  9. Do you miss teaching and do you wish you were still teaching or do you content with being an author?

Leave a Reply

