Jason Brant’s ‘The Gate’ Review/Giveaway (Giveaway Closed!)


Jason Brant outdid himself this time! The Gate is twice the length of his other books, and though I liked them all, this one is my favorite.

The Gate starts off with two college boys, Bryan and Kyle, being accepted as interns on a television show called The Specter Slayers. Bryan is the studious one and his fiancé just broke off their engagement, leaving him depressed. Kyle is the hot football player that scores all the chicks. The Specter Slayers is a show about paranormal investigators that go into supposedly haunted churches and prove that there is paranormal activity in them.

Bryan is not thrilled about this opportunity, but Kyle talks him into it with the enticement of what airtime will do to his resume. This starts their journey to the Danver church, a church that an eccentric old man bought, and then supposedly killed a whole group of his friends in.

They get to the church after a long drive, and not being able to find it, through woods that seem to get mysteriously darker and creepier the farther they drive into them. Once there, they meet the Specter Slayers, two creeps that do not believe in the paranormal, they just like to cash in, plus their nerdy tech guy. Bryan and Kyle are told that famous horror author, Katie Upshaw, will be joining them for their night in the Danver church.

But Katie has secrets that she is hesitant to share. Secrets about the church…secrets that might get them all killed…

I really cannot tell you more because if I do, it will ruin the surprise. And believe me, I never knew what was coming! It is not at all what you will expect, I will tell you that. It is about as far from normal as you could ever imagine.

This book is full of humor, at least in the first half. I laughed my way through it, never knowing what was waiting for me right around the corner. When I did get passed the humor, I spent the rest of the book with my jaw hanging open, not knowing what to expect next. I will admit to my heart jumping up in my throat a time or two as well. Delving into Satanic rituals and biblical theories (NOT in a boring way!), The Gate will have you holding your breath, and pulling the covers up to your eyes at night, fearfully hoping you are not the next to get sucked in.

Quotes from the book:

“First, I never want to see you swivel your hips like that again.  Second, you stepped in my mashed potatoes.”

“Jesus jumped up Christ, look at the size of that crack!”

“We saw something that she couldn’t handle…”

“We don’t need it coming back because it heard you.”

Once again, if I have talked you into reading this book, please leave the author a review where you bought it. I will put links to everywhere it is available underneath the cover picture. I hope you give it a chance. You will not be disappointed.

Amazon: The Gate

Barnes and Noble: The Gate

Smashwords: The Gate

Kobo: The Gate 

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The Giveaway:

This will be an easy entry as always, with the chance to get extra entries. 1 ebook of The Gate is up for grabs. To enter simply comment on this post and tell me Why you want to read this book. The comment is MANDATORY if you want to win. For extra entries, show some author love 🙂

Like Jason on Facebook: Click HERE

Friend or Follow on Goodreads: Click HERE

Add The Gate to TBR List on Goodreads: Click HERE

Like The Gate on Amazon: Click The Gate

Like Jason’s Author Page on Amazon: Click HERE

Make sure you tell me what you do and BE HONEST! Contest ends 8/14 at 8am CST. Good Luck!

Posted on August 13, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I love to read new and interesting stories about authors I am now just finding out about

  2. Whew! Glad you like you liked it. I really wasn’t sure how this one would turn out. It’s always a little nerve-wracking when you stray away from your typical writing style.

  3. thanks for the review! since i moved to west africa, i miss my books and esp books stores! thanks to socialmedias i am able to stay in touch with up and coming books! woo hoo! i love all paranormal, esp ones with a mystery to solve, so keep up the great work!

  4. Belinda Gallant

    judging by the cover it looks like it might be set in the medieval times — i enjoy those kinds of books immensely — can’t wait to read it 🙂

  5. Esp and paranormal. Really want to read this one. Thanks for sharing and for a new author to follow.
    I liked Jason’s author page and The Gate on Amazon and friended him and added The Gate to my TBR. That was a given, as I want this book! Also wished for it:)
    Crossing fingers, toes and eyes for this one!
    Thanks so much for a chance to win this interesting novel.

  6. Meant to leave my email: laurathomas61@att.net

  7. Cassie Hoffman

    This sounds really good. I’ll have to read it, very soon. I like the plot, I haven’t seen one with this kinda plot before. Really interesting.

  8. This sounds like an amazing read! If I don’t win, I’m for sure picking this book up!

  9. I did them all. : ) I love to read books with twists and surprises. The cover is amazing too.

  10. Kristal Coulter

    I want to read this book because I love discovering new authors to follow and it sounds to be my kind of book 🙂

    I did these 3 things 🙂
    Like Jason on Facebook
    Like The Gate on Amazon
    Like Jason’s Author Page on Amazon

  11. Last minute entry 🙂 I would love to read this book because I really enjoyed his other ones. I did everything but the Goodreads thing (I don’t do Goodreads), but most of it I had done before now.

  12. The Winner of the ebook of The Gate is Kristal Coulter. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

