YOU CAN’T SHATTER ME BLOG TOUR (Tahlia Newland)


AMAZON SYNOPSIS

When superhero wanna-be, Carly, stands up to a bully, he turns on her, forcing her to battle cutting words, flying hooks, a doubt dragon and a suffocating closet. Her karate-trained boyfriend, Dylan’s desire to stop the harassment sets off a struggle to control his inner caveman. Meanwhile, Carly searches for inner strength and a peaceful solution. Will she find it before Dylan resorts to violence?

This heart-warming magical realism story offers real solutions for handling bullying that will inspire and empower teens and adults alike.

 

MY REVIEW

Carly is a spunky sixteen years old. In the face of standing up to a bully, she puts herself in his path. While standing up for herself, she is asked out by Dylan, the smart nerd. She sees him in a different light and agrees. The bully harasses her throughout the book while she tries to live with it and forgive him for how he is because she realizes he has a bad home life. She tries all sorts of different things to stop the bullying, but the more she turns the other cheek, the more he bullies her, going so far as trapping her in the woods with ill intentions. She tries to rewrite her own story the whole book, even trying mediatation and the power of love to change the bully. She also takes a look at the other kids who have been bullied their whole lives and tries to help them stand up straighter.

Using magical realism, the author takes you on a strange ride with older teenagers who seem to have overactive imaginations. The story was good, and I loved that it took a look at real life problems. Most kids have to deal with being bullied, and it can be a very painful and confidence shattering part of life. I do think that the story would have worked better if the characters were younger as I cannot imagine sixteen year old acting like the ones in the book. Regardless of that, the magical realism takes real world problems and combines them with the extraordinary to bring them from being hard to deal with, to making kids believe they can be superheroes. I would let my children read the book if they were having problems with a bully. I also enjoyed the quotes at the beginning of each chapter. They really made the book. I give this book 4 stars.

Author Bio:

Hi. I’m an author, avid reader, extremely casual high school teacher & occasional mask-maker. I write urban fantasy and magical realism for adults & young adults and like to challenge readers to look more closely at the nature of their world, their mind and their perception. After creating and performing in Visual Theatre shows for 20 years, I’m now a bone-fide expatriate of the performing arts. I’ve written scripts for theatre in education, short stores for children and adults, and have a novella and novel awaiting publication. I  live in an Australian rainforest, am married with a teenage daughter and love cats, but I don’t have one because they eat native birds.

Purchase links:

Kindle US

Kindle UK

Kobo

Barnes & Noble

Apple

Paperback

Available online and by request at major bookstores world wide from the end of September. Fill in the form here if you would like to be sent the purchase links when they become available.

Book trailer link http://youtu.be/vzYZiPqaOQk

AUTHOR LINKS

http://tahlianewland.com

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

If you read this book, please remember to leave a review where you bought it. Every review helps the author!
Posted on September 4, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I can honestly say I have never read a book like this one, and I think it would be something my 10 year old might like to read. I will have to add it on my TBR list for my son. I like that it has to deal with bullying and dealing with facts that kids face today.

  2. Thanks for the review, Cynthia. It’s interesting what you say about the age, because I often read US books where fifteen year olds act like eighteen year olds here, so I wonder if it’s a cultural thing. I work as a high school teacher and interviewed several seventeen year olds who talked about their experiences in the previous year. I also had teens read it here and none mentioned that. Setting ages is tricky, I’d like to hear how Cassies 10 year old goes with it. The romance might be a bit much for him, but who knows. Kids vary a lot.

    I realised too that it must seem strange for US readers that Dylan’s sister drives them on their first date, but our kids can’t get their licences until they’re seventeen.

  1. Pingback: ‘You Can’t Shatter Me’ blog tour Sept 1st to 11th | Tahlia Newland, author

  2. Pingback: Blog tour – another review | Tahlia Newland, author

  3. Pingback: 'You Can't Shatter Me' blog tour Sept 1st to 11th - Tahlia Newland

  4. Pingback: Blog tour - another review - Tahlia Newland

Leave a Reply

