Review/GIVEAWAY of “Fluke” by Bart Hopkins and David Elliott


(Giveaway details at the end: Please read review first!)

Adam Fluke is your average nice guy that is a little too old to not know where his life is going. In his late twenties with a pizza delivery job, Adam Fluke is going nowhere fast. Then, he meets the girl of his dreams on a delivery. After she tells him to call her when he gets off, he takes off back to his job and ups and quits right then, leaving behind a girl at work who was a “possibility”, who also plays a big part in the book.

Now unemployed, and prone to what his friends call “The Fluke Factor”, which pretty much means whatever he can f*** up he will, even if he is just tripping over his own feet, Adam falls head over heels for a girl that seems perfect, though there are some things about her that give him pause. Such as the fact that she will go into her own head and be totally unresponsive when her name is called. Also the fact that she whispers at one time, “You just look so much like him…”

Sara and Fluke instantly become thick as thieves. Fluke revolves his whole life around her, and Sara seems to be a good influence on him. Sara is an assistant curator at a museum, and he feels inadequate up against her education and job. She encourages him to get a job and go back to college. They adopt a teddy bear and Sara names it Flukey.

But once again the “Fluke Factor” pops up and after a small scare and a terrifying possibility, brought on by one photograph, Sara and Fluke go on a trip that could change their lives…that does change their lives…forever.

Fluke is a wild ride that has SO many laugh-out-loud and WTF moments. The whole time I was reading the book I had that country song “Crazy Girl” going through my mind. Even though what I was expecting to happen never really came to fruition. I definitely did not have the storyline figured out like I thought I did though. I never would have guessed what happened. And now I have you all crazy wondering what happened, huh? LOL, well the only way to find that out is to read it. I will just say that Fluke was unexpected in a good way. I literally laughed and cried before I finished this book, with my emotional turmoil skyrocketing all the time. One minute you will be fine and the next minute your stomach will take a nosedive in disbelief. I refuse to tell you more of the storyline because all of the little tidbits are what make it…and if I tell you now I will ruin it for you. I totally related to all of the characters, they were believable and engaging. The storyline hooked me in and did not let me go. I was horrified at the ending. Bart, I just want to say that the ending was not fair…I was left wanting to know more(!), but I was satisfied overall with the ending. Oh, and Terri (Wonder-Woman) Kickner, thanks for the heads up to have tissues handy…I needed them!   All-in-all, this is a read that is not to be missed. I give Fluke 5 stars.

Quotes from the Book:

“It doesn’t matter who the hell you are or what the hell she is, when the lights are out and you make the beast with two backs, it just doesn’t matter brother. All that matters is that moment.”

“You can’t polish a turd, son.”

“Fluke, you’re in love. And apparently someone’s in love with you at the same time.”

“Sometimes, not going on is the right thing.”

Once again if I have talked you into reading this book, please leave the author a review where you bought it. Every review helps the author. You can buy it on Amazon with the link below the cover.

AMAZON KINDLE FOR $3.99: Fluke (Bart Hopkins and David Elliot)

AMAZON PAPERBACK FOR $9.99: Fluke (paperback)

Author Links: (Please check out and LIKE on facebook)

Facebook

www.facebook.com/flukethenovel

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Fluke-ebook/dp/B007Y4XDZE/

Bart’s Page/Blog

www.barthopkins.com

Bart’s Facebook:  

www.facebook.com/barthopkinsauthor

GIVEAWAY!

(2) Amazon Gift Codes for the book “Fluke” are up for grabs! To enter this giveaway, please leave a comment on this post saying something about the review or why you want to read this book. The comment is MANDATORY to enter.

For EXTRA entries, please like the following Facebook pages…for each page that you like you will get an extra entry. MAKE SURE to tell me how many pages you liked…leave a comment on them saying I sent you if you want to 🙂

Bart’s Facebook: Click HERE

Fluke’s Facebook: Click HERE

Contest ends 9/14 at midnight with winners announced the next day!

Posted on September 11, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Okay, so now you’ve talked me into (oops, written me into) getting a kindle so that i can download what seems to be a twisty story with loads of laughs. Just what i need at present, let me tell you. I actually felt my spirits perk up while reading your review, DESPITE the fact that you left us all in the dark as to what really happens. 🙂

  2. Now I am intrigued Cynthia! I love a good story to where you don’t have the ending figured out. Those are the best kind. Can’t wait to take this ride. Crying and laughing sound like good medicine to me.:)

  3. Since I already have a copy of this book, I don’t want to enter…BUT… I did want to say that Anna, this is the PERFECT book to break a new kindle (and box of tissues) in with! Natalie, I think there should be a giveaway to the person who could figure out this ending. I’m usually really good about figuring things out halfway through the book, but the ending in this one was a stunner! Literally… I walked around aimlessly for a few hours after finishing this one!

  4. Anna & Natalie – I hope you like it – us two guys had a great time writing it!

    Wonder Woman!! Whenever I see that, I’m transported back to when I was, maybe, five or six years old. I was a big fan of Lynda Carter and the Wonder Woman TV show. Did you ever watch that? BTW – I walk around aimlessly all the time for no good reason…

  5. Fluke is one of those books I keep seeing around, it pops up on Facebook, Twitter, Amazon – and now this great review on one of my favourite Book Review sites! I will be buying it even if I don’t win.

  6. Natalie – Wonder Woman was great – agreed. She was always deflecting bullets with her bracelets…ha ha
    Robert – Cynthia Shepp rocks! I’ve seen your books around as well and will pick one up soon when life gets a little more routined (the summer was crazy). Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

