Review of of ‘Isolation: Built on Fear II’ (GIVEAWAY of Book 1 OR 2)


Review by: Cynthia Shepp

I read both the 1st book (Devastation) and the second book (Isolation) by Shandy L. Kurth and I absolutely fell in love with both of them. I am in a really big apocalyptic/dystopian kick right now so these books were right up my alley. If you have not read the first book, Devastation, please be aware that there will be spoilers in this review of the second book.

Isolation picks up where Devastation left off, all of the kids spread out in the Safe Zone, after a long, terrifying journey to get there where they suffered through starvation, dehydration, and debilitating fear. Even after reaching their destination Fallon, Desiree, Sandi, Brody and Guy are left to realize that there is nothing SAFE about the Safe Zone. America is still in the war with Canada, life is hard and nothing like before the war, and the kids have been forced to grow up way to fast. Living in group homes and working wherever the government tells them to work, school and being a normal kid is a thing of the past. Fallon and Desiree are finally back together again after being branded as traitors and then pardoned, but they only have a few days together before Fallon is sent off to war, as every able-bodied person, male or female, over the age of 17 is. Brody and Sandi have started a new relationship even though they know that they will both be sent off to war soon and who knows when they will see each other again. Guy, the Canadian that saved their lives, is fixing to be thrown into a situation that he might never get out of, spying on his own country to help the Americans. Will the kids make it through alive? Will their relationships last? What else can the world throw at them that it hasn’t already? Apparently, it can throw so much more at them as their journey continues…in the Safe Zone…and in the war.

Isolation was a very enjoyable, action packed read. I found myself holding my breath on multiple occasions and also crying my eyes out. These kids have went through so much, in the first book and the second. The setting just seems like it could be realistic, like it could happen tomorrow. You instantly connect with the characters and you bond with them in ways that have you fully invested in their futures. In Isolation, new characters are introduced and right off the bat they are just part of your heart as well. 12 yr old Danny will break your heart and make you root for him till the end and Demsey is just a straight up hero in my book. I highly recommend that you pick up the Built on Fear series. I am eagerly awaiting the third installation. I actually tried to turn the page on my kindle for like 2 minutes on the last page because I just could not believe that it ended that way! I give Isolation 5 stars!

Quotes from the Book:

“Your faith, your perseverance, the fact that we’re even here! I mean…there has to be something, right?

“We’ll see each other again. In this life or the next.”

“But, life is now and none of us know if we are going to be here tomorrow, so I’m just living it.”

“I hate you because I want to ask you what to do. You’re the only one I trust but…I don’t know if I should be bothered by you, scared of you, or standing behind you.”

If I have talked you into reading this book, please leave a review for the book where you bought it. Every review helps the author. Buy link beneath the cover for both the first and second book in the series.

Amazon Buy Links:
Devastation (Built On Fear 1)
Isolation (Built On Fear 2)

Also available on Smashwords and Barnes and Noble

THE GIVEAWAY!

Shandy has been kind enough to offer up two e-books of the Built on Fear series (Winners choice book 1 or 2) for giveaway. To enter this contest please leave a comment with a question for the author and/or a comment telling why you want to read this book. The question/comment is MANDATORY.

For EXTRS entries you can like Shandy on Facebook or Fan/Friend her on Goodreads. Make sure you tell me what you do so that your extra entries will count. Contest ends 10/26 at 8 am CST.

Facebook: Shandy L. Kurth

Goodreads: Shandy L. Kurth

Posted on October 22, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I only let myself read the last two sentences of the review because I haven’t read the first book yet and didn’t want to see the spoilers. I love books that end and have you sitting there stunned, not able to even turn the page on the kindle to 100%… I need to read this! Cynthia has never steered me wrong 🙂

  2. I have never heard of this book but it sounds great. How did you come up with the ideas?? I will like her on fb xx

  3. Hi Brittany! 🙂 The story to this one is funny. I was sitting on my couch, Just finished writing a manuscript but felt like I had been writing the same thing, over and over so I asked my hubby what I should read next and he said, “A war with (BLANK) *i won’t spoil for some of you ;)* and I said OKAY! And The Built On Fear series is what came out of that! I like dystopian novels but I also really enjoy realistic fiction, so this is a combination of that. Something that could happen and what would come of that! 🙂

  4. Oops I meant I asked my hubby what I should write next not read! 🙂 *rolls eyes at self* 😉

  5. I started reading a little but then ccouldn’t stop ( but sadly had to). I wish to win the second book and am curious how she came up with the idea for the second book! I know it’s not mandatory but I liked her on facebook as well to show appreciation! Friended her on goodreads as well!

    • Is this Natasha V? 🙂 Good question. I don’t think anyone has asked me that one before haha, because it’s a second. It was about 2/3rds of the way through Devastation that I started debating whether or not this was going to be a sequel and I let me beta reader read it and she demanded it be a sequel haha, so I said okay! 🙂 As far as the ideas for the splot in book two….I don’ really have an answer for you 🙂 I pulled it out of thin air and the voices of the characters in my head. I let them go off to their fates and watched as they went 🙂 Why’d you have to stop reading Devastation Natasha?

  6. I got too busy with a bunch of projects to do and yes it is me! 🙂 I’m hopfully getting to it tonight, tomorrow or this week! 🙂

  7. Amanda Engelkes

    I didn’t read the whole review didn’t want to spoil it! I absolutely LOVE dystopian novels! This sounds like something that I would love. I hope to win the first book and get hooked, because I know I will! My questions for Shandy: Is there a special place you go to write? What inspires you to write? Thank you for doing this giveaway!

    **I have liked on FB and friended and became a fan on Goodreads**

    • High Amanda! The truth is, there is no special place I like to go to write. I can and have written just about everywhere! My best scenes are ones I’ve jotted down in the moment! Sitting at work or what-not. Everything around me inspires me. Just living and seeing the reactions and emotions of people give me the inspiration to create characters you guys can relate to! Thanks for stopping by! Good luck in the contest!

  8. I hate that I cannot even read the reviews because of the spoiler alerts! I would like to read this series because I am pretty new to the genre (paranormal/YA/apocalyptic) and am trying to find my niche. The only way I am going to do that is to keep reading different authors/books and find what I enjoy the most. I must say though, so far I am enjoying them all!
    Best wishes,
    Marlena

Leave a Reply

