J.L. McCoy’s ‘Sins of the Father’ Review/Giveaway


Reviewed by Cassie Hoffman

Skye Morrison and her gorgeous vampire guys are back in Sins of the Father. Goth, vampires, wolfs, OH MY! When Blood of the Son ended it ended on a cliff hanger with us guessing what would happen next. Sins of the Father picks right up where the first book left off.

Archer Rhys friend and business associate Greyson Mead, was found brutally murdered and dismembered while visiting the popular night club The Mausoleum, in the curtained off PVIP lounge with a message carved into his torso “THE BLOOD OF THE SON SHALL PAY FOR THE SINS OF THE FATHER”. What kind of person could kill an elder, without being seen or heard?

With other vampires being found just like Greyson, brutally murdered, it can only mean one thing. There is a vampire, or similar blood drinking creature, out there consuming vampire blood and leaving no witness. With An Dilis “The Faithful”, which is the equivalent of the human military being calling in, everyone knows this is serious.

Never knowing who could be next, Skye and Jameson finally give into what they are feeling. Skye finding out that Archer is married to Aoife, and having caught them in a compromising position, broke Skye’s heart and opened it up for Jameson. Letting her feelings for Jameson be known, giving herself to him and giving her blood to him, they bond in ways she could never have fathomed.

A perfect night with Jameson ends and they wake up to both of their vehicles destroyed and two heads lying in in the front seat of Skye’s car. One of the heads is Skye’s ex-stalker boyfriend. What did he do and why did they kill him?

Archer decides to have all his children stay with him and now this includes Skye. Fearing, none of them are going to take that chance. With all their lives on the line and having to be on high alert and still not having a clue who is behind the murders of their families. Everyone is keeping their guard up.

While given a day off from working at The Mausoleum, Skye goes into town and hangs out with an old friend Sissy and drinks a few cold ones. Skye sees a familiar face, a handsome man she has danced with a few times at the club, Dic. After talking Dic and Skye decide to have dinner and catch up. But, something is off and Skye can’t put her finger on it.

After Archer calls to check in on her, he finds out that she is with and freaks out, demanding she comes back to the club now. She doesn’t understand why Archer is acting so crazy. She will soon find out something that she couldn’t ever imagine could be real. Just last week she found out vampires were real, now she finds out Dic is a wolf. A wolf!

After Dic drops Skye off, him and Archer start arguing. Skye leaves, she can’t take it anymore, she starts walking to the parking garage a few blocks away where she left her car at. But, she isn’t alone someone is following her. After an altercation, she finds herself waking up in a dark basement, handcuffed to a water pipe in the middle of the room.

Will Skye be rescued? Can they find her and save her in time? The one who has been killing vampires now has Skye. What does he want with Skye? Will she make it out alive? These are the questions that Skye Morrison will face in Sins of the Father.

Picking up where I left off with Blood of the Son, I loved how J.L. McCoy left us with a cliff hanger wanting more and needing to find out what was going on. She answers a lot of the questions we wanted to know and fills us in with everything we need to know in Sins of the Father, and leaving us aching for more of Skye and Jameson. I absolutely love this series! The characters are awesome and they each have their own little quirks. I love Skye, Jameson and Archer, but I love our gay vampire Trey and we get more of him and get to see Skye and his friendship grow even more. We get to learn more about the vampires and where they come from and how they started. What is a vampire book without a kick ass love scene, well we got one in Sins of the Father and I want to see a LOT more of Jameson and Skye! I love the whole feeling of this book; I seriously got lost in it and didn’t want it to end. Bravo again to J.L for hitting it out of the ball park again and of course I give it 5 Gothic stars!!!!

Quotes from the Book:

“I took your life blood as I made love to you Skye. I took a piece of you into me as you shared yourself with me completely. I can feel you inside of me, my love. Your blood warms my heart. I can feel your very essence pumping through my veins, fusing together with my own. I feel you everywhere.”- Jameson

“Jesus. What is it with you guys always interfering in my shit? You know, if something is bothering me, I’m perfectly capable of taking care of it myself. I’m not some damsel in distress, Archer. I don’t need to be rescued, damn it.”- Skye

“You hurt me and I needed him. He lessened the pain in my heart and I desperately needed that. He kissed away my tears and showed me that love doesn’t have to hurt, Archer. I made love to your brother because I wanted to. I made a mistake choosing you over him and wanted to make it right, before I lost him forever.”- Skye

“Bro? Did you seriously call me Bro? I’m 900 years old.”- Hagan

If Cassie has talked you into reading this book, please leave a review where you bought it. Every review helps the author.

AMAZON:

Blood of the Son (Book #1 in the Skye Morrison Vampire Series)  ($2.99)

Sins of the Father (Book #2 in the Skye Morrison Vampire Series)  ($3.99)

GIVEAWAY:

Today for the giveaway we have a Mini fan pack which has signed bookmarks from each book (and a few blank ones) also with 9 stickers (3 from each book) which includes, Blood of the Son, Sins of the Father and The Original Sins. To win this awesome mini fan pack all you have to do is LIKE the authors facebook page AND leave a comment telling me that you did ALONG WITH a question for J.L. McCoy. Good luck!

J.L. McCoy on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorJLMcCoy

Remember to follow the comments (a box you can check) to be notified to the answers to your questions!

Ends 11/15 at 8 am CST

Posted on November 13, 2012, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Liked the page
    Q: How’d you come up with the idea to write this book?

  2. Amen Cassie!! This series is so captivating. You fall in love with so many characters and can’t help but want more~more and MORE!! Yummy characters~bonds made and delicious Vamps. Who could ask for more? J.L. McCoy has left me wanting more. Especially from Archer. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next.:)

  3. Kassandra Johnson

    I liked thy page.
    Question: How did you come up with the names for each person in the book?

Leave a Reply

