GUEST POST/GIVEAWAY FROM AUTHOR ROBERT BRYNDZA


Today we have Robert Bryndza joining us for a FANTASTIC guest post and giveaway!

*****

How do authors choose the genre in which they write? Does the genre choose them? I ask this question because I never dreamed, as a guy I would end up writing Women’s Fiction – and I think it chose me.

As a writer, one of the most important factors in marketing your book and communicating to your readers, is genre. Say the name Stephen King and you know he writes horror, Stephenie Meyer; Vampires, JK Rowling; Children’s/Harry Potter. Although, her recent move to Literary Fiction with The Casual Vacancy left many fans in shock. Such was the power of the genre she inhabits that many readers were completely horrified it wasn’t another book about boy Wizards.

JK Rowling has told how she had the idea for Harry Potter on a train in 1990, that he arrived fully formed in her head, the genre it seems chose her. Did her frame of mind or surroundings influence her that
day? What if she had being doing tequila shots in a sleazy bar – could Harry Potter have been some flawed detective or Serial Killer?

The great thing about working on self-publishing platforms is that genre matters less, well less to readers than authors, we still need to make sure we market our work effectively and genre is a fundamental part of this, but more writers have the freedom to switch and experiment. The cost and time it takes to release a book has gone from months to hours, e-books are cheaper, shopping easier. These factors give both readers and authors more freedom to experiment. A virtual bookshelf will never be cleared if the novel fails to sell in that all-important first month. Books can be nurtured and grow their audience.

So how did I choose the genre I write in? Again, I think it chose me. I love to make people laugh, its one of the most potent and powerful things. The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard began from wanting
to make people laugh, and initially it had a male voice, the character that became Coco Pinchard’s husband Daniel. He remains a great character, but as I wrote I found that Coco seemed to be the one that
all the fun stuff was happening to, she was more wonderfully flawed, and prone to disaster. After several of my earlier readers agreed, I switched to Coco’s voice and The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard
was born.

Do I worry about writing in this genre dominated by so many brilliant female writers? Well, not now. In an early discussion with a Literary Agent, he told me that I should be prepared to change my name, and
consider using a female pen name. “People might not think a guy can write as a woman,” he said. I quickly realised that this is ridiculous. No one told Patricia Cornwell she couldn’t write crime thrillers because she’s never committed murder, or Stephenie Meyer because she’s never drunk blood. Silly examples I know but so is the argument. Nick Hornby is a British writer I greatly admire for his skills as a storyteller, two of his novels Juliet Naked and How To Be Good are written brilliantly from a female point of view.

Many things have excited me about the digital publishing revolution. The shift of a little more power to authors, the freedom to be paid higher royalties, the freedom to write what we want. The second book I
have recently released is Bitch Hollywood (co-written with Ján Bryndza) a dark comedy about life in the Hollywood Hills. My next book will be a sequel to The Not So Secret Emails, then I want to write a Thriller – a radical departure from what I’ve written before, and you know what, I can do it. I am excited to see what other writers will produce in the years to come, both well-known names from publishing houses, and best selling Indies. Exciting times are ahead for all of us.

The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard Amazon UK
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Secret-Emails-Pinchard-Romantic-ebook/dp/B0086V6JLE

The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard Amazon USA
http://www.amazon.com/Secret-Emails-Pinchard-Romantic-ebook/dp/B0086V6JLE

Bitch Hollywood UK

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bitch-Hollywood-ebook/dp/B0092FW64M

Bitch Hollywood USA

http://www.amazon.com/Bitch-Hollywood-ebook/dp/B0092FW64M

 

Robert Bryndza is a British born author and playwrite, currently
living in Slovakia. He originally trained as an actor, but was bitten
by the writing bug when his play Branko & Branka: The Croatian Magic
Sensation was a hit at the 2007 Edinburgh Festival.

He was a finalist in the 2010 BBC Drama Writers Academy and has
published two novels, The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard and
Bitch Hollywood (co- written with Ján Bryndza). The latter was
inspired by the year Robert and Ján spent living and working in Los
Angeles.

Robert is currently working on a sequel to The Not So Secret Emails Of
Coco Pinchard. In his free time he’s learning to speak Slovak and
writes a blog about life in Slovakia. http://www.teambryndzabooks.com

He’s also about to get a new puppy – which seems more exciting than
anything else!

GIVEAWAY!

Robert has been kind enough to offer up 1 kindle copy of The Not So Secret Emails of Coco Pinchard and 1 kindle copy of Bitch Hollywood. To enter this giveaway, please leave a comment telling me WHY you want to read these books and/or ask the author a question. This is MANDATORY! For an extra entry please like Robert’s facebook page. (Also, tell me if you have already read one of them)

http://www.facebook.com/teambryndza

Remember to follow the comments (a box you can check) to be notified to the answers to your questions!

Ends: 11/19/2012 8 am CST

Posted on November 14, 2012, in GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I often start out with the story as such, and sort of halfway through I start grappling with what genre it might belong in… Mostly I go for historical fiction – I love history – but as I also like expanding my writing beyond the realms of the possible, it happens I add a supernatural touch here or there. This, as you hinted at in your interesting post, causes problems when attempting to promote through the traditional route of agent/publisher, as cross-overs are regarded with a certain skepticism. Yet another advantage to indie publishing… I didn’t quite follow what you meant with “a virtual bookshelf will never be cleared if the novel doesn’t sell in that all important first month. Books can be nurtured and grow their audience.” Are you saying that in this brave new world the first month is no longer as important?.
    Thank you for a good read, and I’m sure a male author will bring a lot of intriguing quirks to Women’s Fiction (which, BTW, is a massively broad genre :))

  2. Historical Fiction with elements of the supernatural is an interesting crossover Anna. To clarify the section you have quoted. When an author publishes a book through a conventional trade print deal, bookshops and retailers are not going to keep the book on the shelf for long if it doesn’t sell from the word go. A print book, in particular from a first time author, often doesn’t get the opportunity for word of mouth to develop before it’s moved to the back of the store to make way for the next new release, or worse, sent back to the publisher. Whereas e-books are available indefinitely. Sure they might be harder to find but they’re there on the virtual bookshelf and can be gently prodded and pushed toward reviewers, reading groups, over a longer period and develop a fan base.

  3. I’ve been wanting to read The Not So Secret Emails Of Coco Pinchard for a while. I think that if I’m able to work as a mechanic which is a male-dominated industry, a man can certainly write a book from the point of view of a woman. The book I’m writing right now, is from the POV of a male. I love when people buck trends 🙂

  4. I want to read these because they sound AWESOME!!

  5. They sound very interesting and like something I would read 🙂
    jovaziwolf@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

