Sliding Beneath the Surface Blog Tour: Interview with Doug Dillon


Sliding Beneath the Surface Banner copy 

Interview of Doug Dillon: author of Sliding Beneath the Surface

1. Doug Dillon publicity

Book I in The St. Augustine Trilogy

 1.  What do you like about writing in the paranormal genre?

First of all, it is just so much fun. I get to play with the spooky things that have haunted humankind for millennia and the possibilities are endless. Second of all I get to use my own paranormal experiences as a basis for everything I write in that arena. It just flows so naturally because I’ve been there. And last of all, I get to actually educate some folks about the paranormal in the process. Sure, I present all that stuff as scary, but in the end, I show it as a very natural and positive part of who we are as human beings.

2.   How long did it take to write your book?

To be perfectly honest, I started playing with the Sliding book during a trip to St. Augustine back in 2004. But actual writing/editing time would be about a year and a half.

3.   Do you create an outline first?

Yup, I’m an outliner from hell. Well, not in the usual outline format but I do pre-construct each chapter with its own story arcs and write a synopsis. I also have a checklist of items I need to include with regard to things such as location, physical environment and whatever Jeff, the main character, is physically sensing.

In fact, I have an actual form I used to outline Book II of the trilogy so I wouldn’t forget anything. BUT–once I get into the writing, my characters and I often veer in unexpected directions and new chapters sometimes get written in the process.

4.   Do you ever get writer’s block and if so how do you overcome it?

Only in the sense that I struggle with how to express something complex in the fewest words possible. Even then, I’m a meditator so I know how to gently back away from the problem, stay centered and look at it in a new light.

5.   If you couldn’t be an author, what would your ideal career be?

If I had the professional credentials, I would love to be an investigator for the University of Virginia’s Division of Perceptual Studies. For decades, they have been investigating cases of reincarnation in children worldwide.

6.   List 3 books you just recently read and would recommend?

Nonfiction – Life Before Life: Children’s Memories of Previous Lives by Dr. Jim Tucker

Mystery – The Sanibel Sunset Detective by Canadian journalist Ron Base

YA – Divergent by Veronica Roth

6. Book I cover

Trilogy Graphic

Where can everyone find your books? What social media sites are you on?

 

Buy Links:

 

Click to Buy E-book:

 

Click to Buy Print Book:

 

Author Links:

 

Blog:http://dougdillon.com/news/

Web Page:http://dougdillon.com

Twitter:https://twitter.com/Doug__Dillon

Facebook:http://www.facebook.com/TheStAugustineTrilogy

Central:http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005ZEJTJ4

Goodreads’ Author page:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/580090.Doug_Dillon

Amazon Book: http://www.amazon.com/SlidingBeneathSurfaceAugustineebook

 

 

Rafflecopter Giveaways:

My blog will not show the graphics for these awesome giveaways but click the link and go check them out! You don’t want to miss out!
a Rafflecopter giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted on January 14, 2013, in Author Interviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks Cynthia Shepp for participating in the tour.

  2. Jennifer Wedmore

    Thank you for your help promoting this wonderful book!

  3. Thank you Cynthia for a Great Giveaway!!!

Leave a Reply

