Review/Giveaway of ‘Overnight Sensation’


Overnight SensationOvernight Sensation by Hal Eisenberg

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I will start by saying that I really enjoyed this book. It was very easy read. Jonah is a fifteen-year-old boy that finds out that his dad used to be a rock star. His dad decides to get his band back together just for some fun jam sessions. They record a song that Jonah shares with his friends. Somehow the song gets sent to the radio station and played on air…the catch? The radio station thinks that Jonah and his friends are the ones that are in the band.

The boys decide to start their own band and, along with Jonah’s dad, set out to make the world believe that it was the boy’s song. Throw in a crooked radio station manager, someone from Jonah’s dad’s past, and a gaggle of girls…and you have an OVERNIGHT SENSATION on your hands.

This was a very cute book. It was geared probably towards the younger YA audience (though there was light cussing) but it was still enjoyable to me. I liked the simplicity of it. It made every page turn quickly and easily. With some light romance, a great group of friends, and a bully turned band mate…this is a fun read that I suggest you pick up and give a try.

Quotes from the book:

“All I’m saying is that when a girl finds out you’re in a band, they start acting totally different around you.”

“Sheesh, it sounds like someone had an extra bowl of bitchy flakes this morning.”

“No sweat, Joman. If that jerk ever bothers you again, just tell me and I’ll crush him like a walnut.”

15725127

AMAZON BUY LINKS:

Overnight Sensation

Overnight Sensation (Paperback)

THE GIVEAWAY!

Hal has offered up a fantastic prize packet to one lucky winner! The prize packet contains a SIGNED paperback of Overnight Sensation, a bookmark, and a guitar pick. To enter to win this prize all you have to do is ask Hal a question about the book or anything else you are interested in learning about or tell him why you want to read his book. The comment is MANDATORY but as always, you can get an extra entry by liking his Facebook page. Make sure to let me know that you liked it in your comment.

http://www.facebook.com/OvernightSensationTheBook

Follow the comments to see the answer to your question!

Ends 1/24/13 at 8 am CST

Posted on January 21, 2013, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. So Hal….Is this your first book you have written and what was your inspiration to write?

    • Hi Natalie!
      Yes, this is my first book and it took me seven years and twelve rewrites. You’d think after all that it would be of Steinbeck quality – ha! I have a tendency to write and then re-write, so I finally decided enough already, let’s put it out. My inspiration to write Overnight Sensation came from a bunch of influences, including my background as a musician in bands, as well as society’s seemingly endless fascination with fame. I wanted to pose this scenario: What would you do if you became famous but didn’t really deserve the fame? Would you admit it, or would you do anything to hold on to it?

  2. I also liked Hal’s page a while back.:)

  3. I’ve been wanting to read this!! Excited about this giveway:D My question: Hal have you ever been in a band? What sparked the idea for this book? Btw I really like the title. I liked his FB page:) Great review!

    • Hi Jocelyn, thanks for the compliments and thanks for liking my FB page! Yes, I’ve been in many bands starting from around age 15 and still play today (drums), but back in my teen years, my main motivation was: get famous, get girls, followed by – get girls. And not in that order. Oh, and I loved singing and playing the music! I still play, however nowadays my wife would probably frown on the “get girls” thing, so we just play for fun and occasionally have gigs for private parties and such. Thanks for the compliment on the title as well. All though it’s a phrase one might here now and again, I got it (stole it) from one of my favorite ’70s rock/pop bands, The Raspberries (google them). In fact, their song called, “Overnight Sensation” is all about desperately wanting fame and to hear their song played on the radio. And I also agree with you about Cynthia’s review – it’s awesome.

      • Thanks for answering my questions!! I will check out The Raspberries, anything that inspires an author has to be amazing:) I wish you much happiness and sucess with your book and future

      • I played the drums in school. I was a scrawny little thing and dragging that drum around about killed me…but I loved it 🙂 Once I hit 7th grade though I realized I liked boys more than drums 😉

  4. 최다해 gongjumonica

    Hi, Hal. If you could be a character in your novel, who would you be and why?

    I am interested to read your book and hopefully I will be able to review it, too.

    • Hi Monica! Great question. Undoubtedly, I would be the lead protagonist, Jonah. Although I’ve never achieved the fame he does in the book, I was involved in various rock bands and still am, and have even had a couple songs get radio airplay. I think many people would like to taste fame, to see what it’s like to have millions adore you. However, if you ask someone who’s famous, they’ll tell you that fame is a double edged sword. The upside is that everyone knows your name and follows you and wants your autograph and takes your picture, and constantly seeks you out – which are the exact same things that begin to drive you crazy and make you wonder why you ever sought out fame in the first place! By the way, I checked out your blog and it’s wonderful! And I’d love for you to do a review of Overnight Sensation. Contact me or have your agent call mine…:)

  5. Read this book few times already n I love it! A very fun read.

    • A-h-h-h, Naadir – one of my favorite reviewers! I still love to show off your review of Overnight Sensation to friends and anyone else that might pass by. Thanks again for that and for your wonderful support!

  6. The book sounds like a fun read. What made you want to write a book like this one? Who was your muse?

    • Hi Cassie, thanks for the compliment and for your great questions! I’ve been in rock bands since I was a teen, played in small clubs, played in front of 200,000 people once as well and I’m telling you, once you get the fame bug, it’s hard to let go. Even if that fame lasts about as long as you’re on stage, which is about as long as mine lasted. Growing up and listening to all my favorite bands, all I ever wanted to do was play in a rock band and have fame, fortune, and yes, groupies. So Jonah, the main character in Overnight Sensation, along with his dad, Ray, are sort of a combination of me, with a lot of imagination thrown in. My other muse is everyone who tries out for American Idol or The Voice. When you watch them audition, you can see it in their eyes, whether they have talent or not, they all want it, that instant fame. And thanks to shows like those as well as youtube, anyone these days can achieve it with a little talent and a ton of luck. Sorry, that was probably more than you wanted to read…!

  7. Dear Cynthia,

    After answering some of these great questions, it occurred to me that I hadn’t thanked you yet for taking the time out to read my book, Overnight Sensation. And despite the fact that there are no witches, vampires, ghosts, demons, werewolves, or shirtless, hunky guys making girls swoon (unless you count Monroe Buford, the high school bully who makes people swoon with his nose wrenching smell) you still took the time to read and review it – and you actually liked it! So for that, I bow to your great taste and thank you for your wonderful review and wish you continued success with your incredibly well designed blog!

    • Hi Hal,
      You are very welcome for the review. I love all types of books…I don’t discriminate lol. I just always seem to get more paranormal requests than anything else. You made my day with the well designed blog remark. I also got your email and meant to respond. If you could see my email though you would understand how sometimes things get overlooked. It is a mad house in there 🙂 I also want to thank you for taking the time to answer everyone’s questions. That means a lot. I have a question for you…What’s next? Are you writing another book?

      • Yes, I am and thanks for asking! I’m about a third through my next book, tentatively titled, Number One With a Bullet. Yes, rock and roll is in the mix. In this one however, there’s a girl protagonist. Here’s the log line: When 17 year old Casey discovers her grandfather murdered at his landscape business, she begins uncovering clues as to his killer, who her deceased mom’s real father was, and how a 60’s rock star, a box of old love letters, and a cache of stolen Russian diamonds may all be involved.

        Then a mysterious ghost meets and falls in love with this beautiful shape shifter and… nah, just kidding. I’ll leave that to Amanda Hocking!

  8. Random.org decided on a winner and it picked NUMBER 1. Congrats Natalie! You won the prize packet 🙂

    • Congrats Natalie! Once I receive your mailing info I’ll get the package out to you right away. In addition, I’m going to throw in several different colored guitar picks and a few more bookmarks to go with the signed paperback.

Leave a Reply

