Review/Giveaway of ‘ACES HIGH’ by Jason Brant & Elle Casey


STAY TUNED IN THE NEXT FEW DAYS FOR AN INTERVIEW WITH JASON AND ELLE!

Aces High is a book by Jason Brant and Elle Casey—a collaboration of two of my favorite authors. If you have read their books you would wonder what they could possibly have in common genre-wise, besides humor and a flair for the paranormal. Elle is mainly YA and Jason is mainly horror. Aces High is proof that you can’t put anybody in a little box and expect them to stay there. Their writing styles meshed so well that the book flowed seamlessly, with Elle writing a chapter and then Jason the next. I was impatiently waiting for this book from the second that I heard that they were writing a book together. I love both of their styles and this book did not disappoint. The absolute funniest part of this book (to me) was that I pictured Jason and Elle as the main characters. I could absolutely see their faces while I read…which had me CRACKING UP the whole time… I could just see them getting into those situations—with Elle beating up on Jason the whole time.

The two main characters, Charlie (a girl) and Douglas, are as different as two people can be. Charlie is an independent, take-no-shit, card shark, while Doug is a self-proclaimed geek and…well…a little bit of a wuss. A peephole and an egg is what makes this unlikely pair a team. Both young, on their own, and down on their luck, they come up with the unlikely idea to become bounty hunters, going after the bad guy to make the rent money. Charlie is a lot brash, a little abusive, with a foul mouth to boot and Doug is a germ-freak with a scream like a little girl, but somehow they make their friendship work. This book follows them through old, nasty hookers, victory dances, eye drops, police chases, dumpsters, and a surprising twist that some will expect and some won’t…but that leaves the book wide open for a series I can’t wait to read. I extremely enjoyed the relationship between the two—watching it grow felt as if you were really getting to know them. Full of smart-ass comments, inventive swear words, situations that have you saying WTF, and an unlikely friendship that has you rooting for the pair to the very end, this is a book that you don’t want to miss. I can’t wait to see what Charlie and Doug get up to next.

Quotes from the Book:

“People are going to stick guns in your asshole.” (Charlie)

“Penis, penis, penis—all day long. That’s me.” (Doug) *I almost choked to death when I read this part of the book as I was laughing so hard.*

“We make good partners. Two ass-kickin’ survivors. We’re just squirrels trying to get a nut.” (Charlie)

“This was just the fart frosting on top of my shit cake of a day.” (Doug)

485030_4861267364469_548324093_n

AMAZON BUY LINK:
Aces High by Elle Casey and Jason Brant

GIVEAWAY

Want to win a copy of Aces High? I have one to giveaway! All you have to do is TELL ME WHY YOU WANT TO READ THIS BOOK!

And make sure to follow Jason and Elle on Facebook if you don’t already. You get an extra entry by letting me know that you do! Want another extra entry? Add it to your Goodread’s shelf or like it on Amazon. Goodreads Link

Make sure you tell me what you do or it won’t count!

That’s it. Easy-Peasy. Random.org will pick winners on 3/5.

 

Posted on March 1, 2013, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. sounds interesting

  2. did all of the above

  3. Crystal Dragon-Christensen

    I follow Elle and Jason and I’ve read all of Elle’s books except this one, and a few of Jason’s so far. I would LOVE a copy of this book because I love their writing styles and because I am now on a tight budget and can’t afford to buy buy buy all the ebooks I want. I quit my job recently to help care for my ill mother. I wouldn’t change it for the world, but I do miss being able to get my hands on the books as they are released. 🙂

  4. I would like to win this because I am a HUGE Elle Casey fan. I follow both Elle and Jason on Facebook, and added it to my shelf on Goodreads. Thanks for the great giveaway!!

  5. I would love a copy of this book. I love all of Elle’s books. I have not read any of Jason’s books yet and if he’s anything like Elle I will probably love him to. Plus how could you not want to read a book that involves a quote like “this was just the fart frosting on top of my shit cake of a day” … Eh, story of my life 😉

  6. Following Elle and Jason on Facebook and book is already added to my good reads shelf

  7. reading your review has made me quite interested in reading this book – i love smart assed heroines and i love books that have humor interspersed in the plot – all-in-all it sounds like a very enjoyable read

  8. “This was just the fart frosting on top of my shit cake of a day.”
    THAT quote makes wanna read this book!I also reading collaborations especially if the writers are TOTALLY different! 🙂

    Added it to Goodreads.Thanks!

  9. Why do I want to read this book…well to begin with Elle is one of the most amazing authors I have read in a loong time and she has turned me into a Jason Brant fan as well. To be able to read a book where they have put both of their story telling abilities together will be amazing! Elle has totally hooked me on independent authors, which for a woman who Dean Koontz was my favorite for so long, is saying a lot. Thanks for your amazing imagination and most of all thanks for sharing it with us!

    • Oh, I just read that I was suppose to tell you what I do..well right now I read..lol. I am out of work due to disability.. and I do follow you both on FB..;-)

  10. Jon Messenger

    Both of these authors are great. I’m looking forward to checking out the book!

Leave a Reply

