REVIEW & GIVEAWAY OF RAZING KAYNE


REVIEW BY CASSIE HOFFMAN

RAZING KAYNE

16094280

When your life is turned upside down, everything you have known is taken away from you, and you’re left to pick up the pieces all by yourself, can you survive and keep going? This is what Kayne Dobrescu is faced with every day.

Kayne, a police officer who is working overtime to take care of his family, a doting father, and a husband to a woman who he really doesn’t know. One day everything Kayne knows is turned upside down when he finds his children dead, and his wife the only one in the house. With her taking her own life, Kayne is the only suspect, but it doesn’t end there. His baby girl Tasha is missing. Where did she go, and who would have taken her, or did his wife do something to her before she killed his other children?

With everyone pointing the finger at Kayne, he decides that he has to move on with his life. Moving to Payson, Arizonia and leaving the ghost of his past behind, he takes a job as a State Trooper. But, moving away will not keep the ghost of his past away.

On patrol, Kayne pulls over a speeding car and that is when he meets Jessica (Jess) Hallstatt. Jessica is a widow of a fire-medic who got killed on his job saving a baby who was trapped in a car, two years prior. Jess is now a widowed wife and mother of four children, three girls and one boy and runs an Event Center in her home she built with the money from her husband’s death…The Hallstatt House.

Forgetting to give back her ID, Kayne has to take it back to her at her home and with that little mistake, it opens up a whole new world for both Kayne and Jessica.

Becoming friends and enjoying spending time with her children, Kayne finds a reason to be happy for once since his family was taken away from him. He no longer looks at his pistol and thinks about ending it all. Being around Jess’ kids is hard for Kayne, especially her little girl Gracie, the one her husband saved, since she is around the same age his missing daughter would be. Kayne soon learns that all the kids are adopted and Jess didn’t have the happy marriage everyone thought she did.

Spending more and more time around Jess and her children, Kayne can’t help but think about Gracie and how she looks so much like his missing daughter Tasha, but it couldn’t be could it? With that thought, Kayne decides to stick around Jess and learn more about her.

With a necklace, a two year old mystery is solved, but how could it be? With new information, both Kayne and Jessica’s lives are turned upside down. How far would a mother’s love go for her child? What would you do to save your child? Jessica is faced with that decision and she will do whatever she has to do.

With murder, kidnapping, Russian kingpins, and secrets coming to light, Kayne and Jessica will have to do everything they can to save their family and learn who they can and cannot trust.

Razing Kayne is a great book, full of suspense, steamy scenes, mystery and romance. It is a book of everything you would want all rolled into one. The author literally has you on the edge of your seat when reading and wondering what is going on. She did a great job interweaving the plot and making it a unique one. I’m sad that it took me so long to read it. I’m one of those people who look at covers and will pick a book based on that, and I have to be honest—the cover made me not want to read the book. I now know you can’t have a book cover being the only thing keeping your from reading a book, and thank goodness it didn’t, because I’m so happy I did, and I learned my lesson! Kayne is an alpha-male and also a gentle giant rolled into one. The characters are great together and you can feel the heat coming off the pages when you read their encounters. Razing Kayne will make you laugh and cry. My heart broke for both Jessica and Kayne while reading. I want more of them! I give this book 5 stars!

 QUOTES FROM THE BOOK 

“There’s a lot in this life I’m uncertain about, but the one thing that is perfectly clear to me is that I don’t want this—us—to end. If someone asked me to sit down and make a list of everything I wanted in a wife, I could sum it up with one word: You surpass any list I could create.” -Kayne

“I need you, Jess, with everything in me I need you, not just now or tonight, but forever. You’re my North Star and Safe Harbor and all those other sappy clichés, but above all else, you are my dragon slayer.” -Kayne

“I know so. Don’t you know you’re my hero? You charged into my world and rescued me before I knew I needed rescuing. You’ve made my every dream come true and then some.”- Jessica

16094280

BUY LINK

 Razing Kayne (Walking A Thin Blue Line)

Razing Kayne (Volume 1) Paperback

GIVEAWAY

JULIEANNE HAS OFFERED  ONE E-COPY FOR GIVEAWAY! TO ENTER THIS GIVEAWAY, ASK JULIEANNE A QUESTION. IT CAN BE ABOUT HER BOOKS, WRITING…OR ANYTHING THAT MAKES YOU CURIOUS.

FOR TWO SHOTS AT EXTRA ENTRIES, PLEASE LIKE HER ON FACEBOOK AND FOLLOW HER ON GOODREADSMAKE SURE THAT YOU TELL ME THAT YOU DID SO THAT YOUR EXTRA ENTRIES WILL COUNT.

ENDS 5/20

Posted on May 17, 2013, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Julieanne, Hi I’m new to you so, I guess I’ll ask something simple. Have you always wanted to write books?

    I also liked you on facebook and goodreads. Thanks for a chance to win a copy of your book. It sounds great. Much Love, Amanda Brown

  2. This sounds fabulous. Thank you. Have followed on FB & GR too.
    Question: Why do you love the first line in your book?

  3. What process do you use to write? That’s pretty broad, I guess! Do you write scenes and then tie them together or do you write start to finish, or one other way altogether? I always think about how difficult it would be for me to write a story bc my mind skips around so much! I also liked on GR and FB! Thanks for sharing this post!

Leave a Reply

