THE SPIRAL ARM REVIEW & RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY


The Spiral Arm is a debut Novella from author Peter Boland. It is the beginning of a dystopian serial series, brought to you in episodes. For me, just that sold me on the idea. I love dystopian books and serial series, and I am a junkie for cliffhanger endings. It makes the suspense of waiting for the next one so much sweeter.

Synopsis:

Wren Harper lives on an overcrowded Earth on the brink of apocalypse. There are just too many people. The answer lies 600 light-years away on Kepler; a planet more than double the size of Earth. For decades humans have been fighting another race for its control. Earth’s armies are depleted. So now 15-year-old cadets are sent to fight, trained along the way in vast combat ships. But why has Wren been chosen? She’s small and geeky and not a fighter. Will she survive Kepler? Or will the training kill her first?

17969128

My Overview:

Wren is a fifteen-year-old insomniac and lives in a world where every bit of space is utilized. People live on the streets and in hallways and the government has built complexes with floors stacked on top of floors (I’m talking 300+ floors) with little cubicle apartments the size of bedrooms. This is due to a serious overpopulation problem on earth. To combat that problem, the people of earth have found another planet, but one that they are having to fight to control.

In this world, fifteen-year-old children are sent to war, training on spaceships on the years it takes to reach the new planet. Wren never expected to be chosen to go and yet, she finds herself aboard the spaceship, the smallest and the weakest one, and the one that a group of people bullies. Will Wren survive her training? Will she make any new friends? Or will she find herself  destroyed before she even finds out why she was chosen, when usually only the biggest and bravest are?

I devoured this book in about an hour and a half. It had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. The premise was so realistic and I can just imagine it happening someday. Character development was great and Wren was an amazing main character. This is one book that you do not want to miss. The cliffhanger ending had my jaw dropping open and my fingers flying across the keyboard, begging Peter to tell me when the next episode comes out. I give this book 5 stars.

Today you have the chance to win one of three copies of The Spiral Arm via the Rafflecopter form. Good Luck!

Amazon Buy Link:

The Spiral Arm – dystopian science fiction series (episode 1, season 1)

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted on June 12, 2013, in BOOK REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I think this sounds like a great premise and I expect your success to be great!

  2. Thanks for the giveaway and I’d like to ask Peter how long did it take him to write and publish from start to finish.

    • Hi Yvonne. I’ve written three episodes so far, and these took me a year in total to write. I’m still editing the other two at the moment and will get them out ASAP. I also have an outline plan for the three after that. Pete.

  3. Sara Kinsella

    Sounds like a great story. I really like the whole dystopian genre. I don’t think this will disappoint!

  4. Evelyn Arzuaga

    THis sounds so interesting and I love syfy books. Usually go the romance route, but this looks like a great book to take a breake from that genre for a bit. Really looking forward to reading.

  5. Your review of these episodes sound wonderful – i am absolutely intrigued and i will definitely be checking this series out. Thank you !!!

  6. Peter, would you rather live on an overcrowded earth or travel to an unknown otherworld and take your chances there?

    • Hi Lindy. I’d love to say I’d travel to an unknown world, but in reality I’m a complete wuss and would probably stay put on good old planet earth, no matter how crowded it is!

  7. Because i trust Cynthia’s reviews 🙂

  8. I would love to read this book, it sounds so intrigueing . I love reading series and I love finding new authors. I would also leave a review one goodreads and amazon 🙂

  9. based off this review, i can’t wait to read it, it sounds very interesting!!!

  10. The synopsis sounds great! It sounds like something right up my alley. I’m looking forward to reading it, whether I win a copy or not.

  1. Pingback: The Spiral Arm – Episode Two | Cynthia Shepp

  2. Pingback: The Spiral Arm – Episode Two Review & Giveaway | Cynthia Shepp

Leave a Reply

