Ryan Hunter, author of InDIVISIBLE, Guest Post and GIVEAWAY


Ryan Hunter, author of InDIVISIBLE, will grace us with a guest blog and an introduction to her and her books today! Everyone make her feel welcome please. Giveaway details at the bottom. Please read post first!

BOOK SYNOPSIS AND COVER:

Brynn Aberdie had everything: a loving family, security and an electronic implant that monitored every move.
Brynn had everything but freedom.
When her father’s life is taken Brynn vows to find that freedom, but it’s a task that puts her life at stake. She’s tagged as a terrorist and put on an Alliance kill list, forcing her to leave her home and become the rebel they already believe her to be.
Brynn learns a lesson many in One United have already learned – by failing to protect their rights, Citizens have forfeited their lives with little hope to ever recover their own identities.

GUEST POST:

Labor Day is generally not the most memorable holiday of the year, but when you’re giving birth and the only programs on television are of other women giving birth, it tends to stick out … a little. I had my daughter on Labor Day thirteen years ago, and why every station thought showing movies about childbirth were a good idea, I’ll never know. Luckily, we found one that rebelled with a Lethal Weapon 4 marathon. I had the movie memorized for years.

Now my daughter is the most witty and outgoing girl I’ve ever met and I wonder, does watching Lethal Weapon 4 seven times the day you’re born affect your personality?

 She’s gorgeous really, and the most friendly teenager I know. She’s also adventurous … so it shouldn’t have surprised me when I asked if she wanted to hike the Subway that she’d jump at the opportunity. The Subway is a hike in the backcountry of Zion National Park, an eight hour hike that includes rappels, swims through narrow canyons, and the potential for fatal flash floods. We hiked it the day of the flash flood warning.

We’d hiked it before so we weren’t worried but as we dropped down into the narrow slot canyon an hour into the hike, the clouds rolled in. Just past a swim through a narrow, dark canyon, the rain started.

We stood in the bottom of a canyon perhaps twenty feet wide with cliff walls on either side that reached up until the sky was a thin gray line of billowing clouds.

It couldn’t be the best setting for a rainstorm, we thought, so we skipped lunch and headed downstream. The natural log bridge over the waterfall had washed away since our last time hiking the Subway, so in the torrential rain, we jumped over the top of the water fall, stumbling across sandstone while gazing over a twenty foot cliff.

I trembled. My daughter trembled as did the rest on our group.

The rain grew so thick we couldn’t see the canyon walls and we formed a human chain to ease each other down into the bottom of the next drop so we could escape the slot canyon before the flooding began. 

In the bottom of the canyon, with the waterfall roaring behind us, we swam again through sinkholes that are mysteriously beautiful when the sunlight hits them.

That’s when the hail started – piercing chunks of ice sent the entire group scurrying for cover, the little slit of cover beneath a narrow overhang.

We shivered and laughed – slipped on the mossy rocks – finally just sat on our butts and slid down areas we couldn’t navigate anymore.

Water began spilling over the edges of the canyon walls, forming waterfalls that hadn’t been there moments before. Still we forged ahead until the walls gave way and we stood in a wide, meandering riverbed.

And the sun came out, brilliant and warm and soothing.

As we lay in the sunlight, warming on the rocks as our clothes dried, we talked. As many hikes as we’d been on and out of all the times we’d gone done the Subway, nothing could compare to that hike.

The trials that had made it threatening had also made it one of our greatest memories.

AUTHOR BIO:

Ryan Hunter has been writing most of her life as a novelist, journalist and freelancer – enjoying every bit of the writing scene except for the brief stint as ‘product description’ writer … Her earliest novel appeared on construction paper, bound with staples and followed two kittens on a journey of self realization. She was eight.

Ryan enjoys hiking, swimming, traveling and spending time with her family. She’s the mother of five children and currently lives in southern Utah.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Amazon kindle: inDIVISIBLE on KINDLE
Amazon paperback: inDIVISIBLE in PAPERBACK
GIVEAWAY!
Prize: Kindle e-copy of InDIVISIBLE. Contest ends 9/6/2012 at midnight CST
You know the drill…ask Ryan Hunter a question about her post or book or comment on it (has to be something about the post). This is MANDATORY!
For extra entries, like, follow, become a fan, and add InDIVISIBLE to your TBR list on the links below:
(Make sure you tell me that you did and leave a comment on her facebook saying I sent you if you would!)
Posted on September 3, 2012, in GIVEAWAYS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the opportunity to blog today! I’ll be checking back over the next few days to answer questions, say hi, etc! Btw, check out what others are saying about inDIVISIBLE – “An excellent book, easy to read, creative and riveting to the end.” -Wayne

  2. First of all welcome to the blog!!! InDIVISIBLE sounds like a amazing read, I don’t think I have read anything like what you wrote before, definitely going on my TBR list. I enjoyed reading about your hike, and wow I would have been scared to death, but what great memories it made for you and your daughter.

  3. Thank you, Cassie! I hope you enjoy the read … and yes, fun but scary hike to be sure. Not scary enough though, as we’re already planning our next!

  4. Awesome that it didn’t stop you all from hiking. I have never hiked in my life and would love to try it. I’ll have to one day:)

  5. Orwell’s 1984 is my favorite book of all time so when I read this blog, there was no doubt in my mind that it was going on my “to read” list! That hiking trip sounded fun… just the sort of thing my sons and I would enjoy tremendously!

    • Terri, enjoy the read! As for the hike, if you ever make it to southern Utah, the Subway is a must! I’ve taken a lot of people on that hike now and every one of them has loved it and begged to go again. Hiking is in our blood, I think. I’ve had my kids hiking with me before they could even walk.

  6. testing…apparently the facebook links are not showing comments that people are posting.

  7. I think that your book sounds so exciting and interesting can’t wait to read it

  8. I put it on face book and twitter. Can’t wait to read the book.

Leave a Reply

